Hi from Albury NSW Australia

Allan Blyth

Hi folks I am brand new to RC and quad copters ... i am eagerly awaiting the arrival of the Eachine Falcon 250 that I ordered a week ago, and I have bought a toy drone from Big W which i have been trying to get a bit of a handle on how these things fly. I have always been a bit of a speed freak riding large motorcycles. When I told my daughter I was getting the quad and she told me i was crazy I told it seemed cheaper and safer than anothert motorcycle LOL

trainrider06

Welcome Allan! Those quads do look fun! I've thought about one also! The FPV stuff looks really fun!
We have a few guys that can help ya with the quad stuff on here for sure!
I sure miss my sport bikes! That acceleration was intense!
:).
Be sure to post up some pix of your quad when you get it!
Heck go to general forum and post some of your bike/bikes I'd love to see em!
Again welcome to RCH!

KLA

Welcome th RCH, Alan. Ditto on the pictures of the bikes. There are a lot of us here that are into motorcycles as well ad RC.

Admiral

Welcome to the forum Allan, when you get a bit of practice you'll have to try FPV, not the sensations of a bike, but still a real buzz.

Stambo

Welcome to the forum Allan.
A good idea to learn to fly a "toy" first.
Quads are not so easy to fly LOS as it's hard to tell the front from the back at distance so don't panic too much if you lose orientation on a regular basis.
When it comes to flying FPV, orientation is not an issue, you fly like you are sitting in the pilots seat.
Sitting being the operative word, take a seat before you try it, trust me. :)
For me and many others, the screen is not the easiest way to fly FPV, goggles are far better when you can afford them.
They give you a far better view and force you to commit to flying FPV rather than looking out at the quad occasionally.
Don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions, however basic they may seem, we are here to help. :)

Tony

Staff member