Geocaching?

Paulster2

I am El Taco!
Anyone out there a geocacher? A friend of mine got me interested in it a few months ago. For those of you who don't know what geocaching is, check out this website: Geocaching.com. There are literally over 1.6M geocaches all over the world, so odds are there are geocaches no matter where you go. Within 20 miles of my house there are almost 600 ... my daughter and I have found only eight (and one travelbug), so we have a long way to go. My Geocache handle is (of course) Paulster2. If you are a geocacher, let me know and send me a friend request over on Geocaching.com. If you want to know more about it, let me know. I'll see what I can do to answer them, but know I'm not an expert.

Tony

Staff member
You do realize that the whole point of this hobby is to be lazy right? That requires a crapload of walking hahaha. Sounds like a lot of fun though. I may have to try it out.

Paulster2

I am El Taco!
You can download an app for either an Android or iPhone. You can also use any of the other geo-locating devices. Lots of fun.

coolgabsi

Super Mod & DEAL KING!
I tried that app.. Last year... Man! Had three geo caches around my house. Couldn't find one.. So I quit. Lol

Tony

Staff member
It's basically a GPS treasure hunt. They will give you the info to get you close, then you have to find whatever it is that is hidden.

Tony

Staff member
It can be a number of things. This is the picture that they were showing on the site of what they could possibly be.

img_cachecontainers.jpg

img_cachecontainers.jpg

Paulster2

I am El Taco!
A geocache can be just about any type of container, place in just about any type of location. I've only scratched the surface of geocaching. I'm officially up to nine now, only 1.6 million more to go :D Two rules to placing a geocache: 1) it cannot be within 1/10th mile of another cache, 2) cannot be on private property (has to be accessible by everyone).

Lee