1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

380/420 Gaui X3 Tail Servo

Discussion in 'Helicopters' started by sneezy007, Nov 20, 2018.

< A Bit Of Horse Trading | Ikon2 Govenor Page, Throttle Setting >
  1. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Hi guys,

    I've installed a new tail servo into my X3. I centered the servo before installation and checked the movement of the servo arm. It has a full range of motion. Once I installed it and hooked up the tail pushrod, it now limits the motion of the servo to hardly anything. As soon as I unhook the pushrod, it moves freely once again.

    I'm scratching my head on this one. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks a lot,
    Dino
     


  2. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    When the push rod is disconnected does the tail move freely, the push rod or the tail slider may be binding.
     
  3. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Yes Keith the tail moves freely when disconnected from the servo.
     
  4. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    What is the tail servo I had issues with an MKS DS95i before I realized that it's working frequency was 760μs / 560hz
     
  5. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Savox 1257 MG HV Digital servo.
     
  6. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    So that servo info recall is the same as the align ds420 or that line. What ever spec the align servo is that is what that servo is. Savox made the ds line of servos for a few years as a rebrand. I think (I can't really remember off the top box My head) it's in the 1200 range.


    If the settings are not the issue make sure you have a properly working pitch slider.

    Also look at your travel limits.
     
  7. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Something is making the servo bind when it's connected to the push rod. I connected the push rod only to the tail and both move smoothly. When I connect the push rod to the servo and not the tail, it restricts the movement of the servo. This is without any power.
    Thanks, guys.
     
  8. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    The Minimum voltage for that servo is 6V and frequency is 1520μs / 333hz, from here I would try reaming out the ball link to ensure there is no friction, and trying it without the push rod passing through the push rod guide, if the problem still exists it would have to be the servo itself. Do you have another servo you can try, even if it's not a proper tail servo just to see is it works better.
     
  9. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Thanks for the suggestions Keith. I do have another servo to try out.
    Dino
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,212
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would try bending the linkage rod to approximately where it is when it is on the servo and seeing if there is any binding in the tail that way. Then I would be looking for the linkage end to be hitting the helicopter body or the servo body when it is installed. If none of that, then I'm scratching my head on this one. Any chance of an up close video by chance?
     
  11. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Thanks Tony, I'll check it out. The servo is mounted on the left side of the heli as you look at it from the tail. I had to cut the servo arm down and I don't think it's rubbing on the FBL tray above the arm. I'll have to get a bright light in there to take a look.

    Perhaps it's something I did with the servo? Are you supposed to centre the servo before you install it? I have a servo tester that allows me to check the range of motion as well as an auto centre feature. I used the auto centre and then installed it? Could that be causing the problem?
     
  12. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,212
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No, I don't think that is the issue. Centering the servo just puts it in the center so you can get your linkage adjusted. Try this, put the linkage back on the servo and connect the servo to the servo tester and see what it does then. If you have a rotary knob, use it to move the servo. I'm going to bet it is hitting something with the linkage end since it only does it with the linkage on the servo.
     
  13. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Thanks Tony, let me give it a try. Maybe it is hitting the top of the FBL tray? I was sure I cut down the arm far enough.
    I'll keep you posted.
     
  14. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Ok found the problem. I had to move the servo arm a couple of teeth to the left. Now I have the full range of motion on the tail when I pull it back and forth manually.

    Next problem, I plugged in my servo tester. The servo starts singing and won't move when I use auto centre and turn the pot.
    Is this a voltage issue? I plan to install an Ikon 2 on the heli.
     
  15. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,922
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Is your servo tester analogue and servo digital ? that sometimes gives strange results.
     
  16. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,212
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This was my first thought as well.
     
  17. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
  18. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Is this tail servo going to work with the Ikon2?
     
  19. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,212
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    As long as it is digital it will.
     
  20. sneezy007

    sneezy007 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Geophysical Technician (Retired)
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Home Page:
    Ok onto the installation of the Ikon2. I did install an Ikon2 on my other X3, that was quite awhile ago. I may have more questions, I did make a lot of notes. Hopefully that will help.

    Thanks for your help with the servo issue. That's why I love this forum. Everyone helps no matter how basic the question is. No one makes any comments, they just help.

    Cheers,
    Dino
     
< A Bit Of Horse Trading | Ikon2 Govenor Page, Throttle Setting >

Share This Page