General First Flight ESC and Motor gone bad - Need Help

Sm0102

Hi All,

I am new to RC toys and have not done this before.

I have tried to make a RC plane but unfortunately, I have burnt two ESC's and two motors :(

Help me understand why this is happening, I am using the following :

1) 3S 25C 11.1V 2200mAh Deans Plug Li-Po Battery (working fine)
2) Micro 9g (working fine)
3) RioRand® 30A Brushless Motor Speed Controller RC BEC ESC (Gone BAD :()
4) uxcell A2212-6 2200KV Outrunner Brushless Motor ( Not sure why its inconsistent after the first full throttle may be gone bad)
5) FlySky FS-T6 2.4ghz Digital Proportional 6 Channel Transmitter and Receiver (Working Fine)
6) Prop size 8x6

Here are the questions:
a) When i do full throttle something burns :( not sure what has gone wrong ( I have not flown yet, died in first flight itself)
b) Am i using the right stuff ? Any recommendations ?
c) Any settings needs to be done before i try full throttle ?
d) After full throttle motor was not working and I saw smoke, why ? Other motor was not moving intermittently and did not work properly.
e) No beeping of ESC any more after I kept on trying (I think i nailed it after multiple tries, it was dead)
f) Any other suggestion ?

-sm

Tony

Staff member
Have you thought about going with a different ESC? Those ESC's that you are using are very bottom shelf and not that good. Something like a HobbyWing 40a is what I would use. I have them in many aircraft and never had a failure. The motor is a generic motor that has had some success. But you may look into new motor as well. But after the ESC. And, on that ESC, the BEC is quite weak.

RandyDSok