General fingers and thumbs

As im a complete beginner what is the recommended way of using your tx. Is it better to use thumbs on the sticks or thumbs and fingers as if you are "pinching the sticks, thanks

murankar

Staff member
What ever is comfortable. Mist say that if you pinch you have more accurate control. I personally use thumbs and I spoke with folks who use a modified pinch. Its hard to explain.

Give both a try and see what works for you.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner

Tony

Staff member
I used to use thumbs only and while I was taking a break from flying and doing a lot of simming, I forced myself to use a modified pinch. What that is, is you put your thumbs on the top of the sticks like you were thumbing it, then you put your index fingers on the top of the sticks and you "kinda" pinch the sticks. This is the way I do it, and I have to say, my control is WAY better than it was before. I suggest pinching the sticks, or doing the modified pinch like I do. Thumbs are just not accurate. But I say that, and Bert Kammerer uses thumbs lol. But he has also said that he has pressed so hard on the sticks that he has made his thumbs bleed lol.

EyeStation

"But he has also said that he has pressed so hard on the sticks that he has made his thumbs bleed lol."
That was my first lawn dart with my 450. I think i figured out the reversed elevator at that time.

Lillyryan

Yes i use the pinch method. When i was taught to fly i was told to "hold the sticks like the queen holding a tramps ****. lol
It is very accurate though.

(Easy on the language please. Thanks.)

Admiral

I had to grab my Tx to work out what I use, it's the modified pinch, I purposely made myself go from Thumbs to Pinch when I started with CP 450 models, I am not sure when or how that became the Modified Pinch, but it works for me.