ESC ESC fried

Glenn Sefton

Hey guys,

I'm a bit of a Noob, been flying for a couple months.

I have a Parkzone P47D. I recently installed Flaps and Retracts. The first flight went great. I brought her in perfectly and disconnected the battery. I let her sit for a while while I ate lunch. I changed out the battery, and attempted another takeoff.

I didn't quite get the lift I had expected and brought the throttle up to max. But, she nosed over, and I cut power right away. As I walked over, I saw smoke billowing out of the canopy. I quickly disconnected and removed the battery. The ESC was just toasted! Not sure yet if the motor was damaged, but I don't think so.

My question is, what kinds of things would cause the ESC to burn up like this? And, would it be safer to use a higher amp ESC? I wouldn't expect that to change the electrical characteristics of the motor- it's going to draw the power it needs. Rather, I was thinking an ESC rated for a higher current would essentially not have to "work as hard" at delivering power to the motor. Am I wrong in this thinking?

Everything on this plane is stock (except the servos added for flaps and retracts.) Until today, it's had 20 or so good flights.

Parkzone P47D
EFLA1030 ESC
EFlite 15BL 950Kv Outrunner Motor

RandyDSok

The ESC is rated at 30A ... the motor's max amps it pulls is 34A with up to 42A for 15 seconds...

You adding more devices ( flaps and retracts ) would have also caused a jump in the amperage being used... combine that with the fact you went full throttle makes it likely you overloaded your ESC

Glenn Sefton