ESC ESC and BEC question

Derek

I'm looking to order electronics for one of my scratch-build planes. However, I'm still learning how to "pick-and-choose" the correct parts. I have a motor picked out from Hobby King and I think that I want a particular ESC, but it requires an external BEC. In the specifications for the particular ESC, it doesn't say what size BEC to get for it.

How do I know what size BEC to get to match up with the ESC that I'm thinking about ordering?

Here is what the site has listed for the Specs:

Max Amps: 60A
UBEC: none
Cells: 2-7S Lipo
Size: 83mmx15mmx39mm
Weight: 63grams (including wires)

That's it! A bit less than helpful, I'm afraid.

murankar

Staff member
If this is for the toys r us glider, that esc is way over kill. You should need no more than 30 amps on the ESC. I have never used an external bec but I would want to know the output power so I do not over power my servos. You may also want to know how many servos it can support. I know that my ESC puts out 5 volts for up to 4 servos which is right where I am at.

other than that I am not sure what else you would need.

Lee

Give us a link to the motor, which prop size/pitch, which plane its for, what size battery you're using. All these things will help to guide us on what to advise.

Derek

oh no, lol, this ESC/BEC combo is not for the toys r us glider. I have a scratch build plane that I'm wanting to get flying soon and I'm shopping for electronics.

Tony

Staff member
I'm sure we can find you a motor and ESC right here in the good ole US of A. Much faster shipping and if anything is wrong, you can actually send it back without it costing more than the part. If you have read my past posts, I"m done dealing with china and will not suggest any parts from there. However, some parts that are made in china but sold here in the US are okay and I still run them in my planes.