General DX6i Pitch Curves: Blade 450

Zadren

As I'm still learning how to keep my Blade 450 hovering in one place, I'm having to 'chop the throttle' quite a bit to keep the heli flying all over the place (specifically, into my head!). What I've found is the heli drops to the ground quite hard, and it worries me that something's going to break if it keeps driving into the ground like that. (I already snapped the training gear hub like this)

I have the pitch curves set up as per the Blade 450 manual as such:

L: 45%
2: 51%
3:60%
4:73.5%
H: 91%

Now please correct me if I'm wrong, but as I understand it 50% pitch on the DX6i = 0 degrees of pitch on the blades, so at 0 throttle, I have 'some' negative pitch, which is pretty much pushing the heli into the ground? (I could be WAY off the mark here!)

What would be nice is if I chop the throttle to zero to quickly get out of trouble, I have a little bit of positive pitch so the heli floats gracefully to the ground rather than slamming onto the skids like it does. With this in mind, what would be a good pitch curve to have?

Thanks in advance :)

callsign4223

Staff member
You want to have a little negative pitch, otherwise in windy conditions your heli will never come down due to the translational lift of the wind moving across the rotor disk.

murankar

Staff member
If you have the 10 to 11 degrees neg. pitch then you could up it by 1 or 2 percent. Other thing is to learn where the throttle cut is and use it just prior to chopping the throttle.

My curve is:
44%
47.5%
50%
75%
100%