1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Hey Guest, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

General Dummy Loads For Patch Antenna

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by bigone5500, Apr 14, 2018.

  1. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,349
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    How critical is it to have one on the antennas that have left and right hand polarization connections on the back? I don't have one yet for my antenna but will next week. I guess reception will suffer?
     


  2. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,349
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
  3. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,349
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I just looked at the package for the one I purchased and it says 3.0 GHz 50 ohm. How will this affect a 5.8GHz system?
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32,346
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Basically the load is to complete a circuit. Apparently from what you are saying, both ports in the back are wired together and leaving one open will not work that well and will cause issues. I have no idea on FPV, but on Coax, like your home TV runs on or your internet, you have to run a 75Ω resistor to plug any open ports in a splitter that are not being used. If you don't, you will have signal degradation which is what I suspect is happening to your system.
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32,346
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Post a link to what you have.
     
  6. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,349
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32,346
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Actually I was wanting to see the antenna. I had a pretty good idea what the termination end looked like lol.
     
  8. bigone5500

    bigone5500 I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,349
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32,346
    Likes Received:
    1,248
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That is stupid that they don't include the resistor with the antenna.
     

Share This Page