FBL Gyro done all I know how to

yayupp

I'll start with what I have: Assan GA250 with a HK1518A Digital tail servo. My problem: once the heli gets in the air, it rotates sporadically. I've watched YouTube videos on setting it up but I must have done something wrong. This is my first build so I expected some hiccups. I feel I need to start from square one...

Derek

Is the servo horn on your tail servo at 90 degrees to the servo case?

centered.jpg

Is your tail slider centered?

Are you sure that the gyro is compensating in the correct direction? Lee has done an awesome tail gyro video. Here is the link:

I hope some of this helps

centered.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

yayupp

Thanks for the information! Turns out my gyro was reversed. And of course my battery died while I was trying to figure it all out. Charger gave me a low voltage warning. Just another speed bump. The travel on my tail servo seems excessive/binding. However, when I adjust it on my DX6i, the speed seems to degrade dramatically. Any insight on that issue?

Lee

You could try to adjust it mechanically, by moving the ball link on the servo arm in one hole.

murankar

Staff member
Do the limits in the gyro first. Keep your tx limits at 100.

The ga 250 needs a perfect mechanical setup while in rate mode. You want no drift in the tail, or as close as possible.

When adjusting for drift first do the linkage rod until you get it real close, then finish it by doing sub trim. Once the heli hovers without drift then go into head hold mode (dx6i is over 50, start at 65) and hover. Check for shakes or slow wags in the tail. If it is a fast wag then back off the gain, if is a slow wag; appears to be hunting then add gain. Wash rinse and repeat till the tail is solid.

Fir the tail gain I would not go below 55. It's just way to close to no gain which is 50.

Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner

Last edited:

yayupp