General Decent TX/RX

Heli 66

Looking for a Decent Tx/Rx at a good price (no Spektrum), just looking for suggestions any of you guys may have had experience with. i have a Thunder Tiger Rapter 50. Fed up with the DX6i.

cml001

Well.. Spekrum is what I use.. No issues.. Got some buddy's on futaba.. I think they r bit more expensive tho.. Really not sure.. I have a DX6i & a DX9.. Any reason ur opting for something different?

Heli 66

I have already had to send it in for repair once due to having no throttle response, got it back and worked fine, checking blade pitches today and the same thing happened, no throttle and when i go to full throttle all i get is a little bit of servo twitching so i'm fed up with it. Never even flown my bird with it, basically brand new

cml001

Ask for a replacement... That doesn't sound common. I have no experience with any other rx to refer u to. Wish I could have been of more help.

Derek

I would think that Horizon Hobby would be willing to replace it. However, if you are set on replacing it, I have some youtube buddies are are using FrySky and the Turnigy 9xr and they are all real happy with them. Both are reasonably priced, too.

Heli 66

not under warranty anymore, i don't know if mine was part of that recall or not but i wish they would replace it instead of repairing it, i would have more faith in a replaced one versus a repaired one so its probabally cheaper for me to send in for repair,i just dont want to get it back and get in the air and it do it again while in the air.

Last edited:

Heli 66

I think i will send in for repair, just having to do it twice leaves me a little apprehensive. Thanks for everyones input

cml001

If the issue is the same as the previous repair, and that one was in the warranty period.. It may still be covered even though it's now out of warranty... Get horizon/spektrum on the phone and see what they say.. Good luck.

- - - Updated - - -