Batteries Charging Multiple 1-cell Lipos

mooserider

Sorry if this is a newbie question... really I've search google, and even talked to a guy at the hobby shop today, and I still don't feel like I get it. Please keep in mind that I'm new to electrics (lipos). NiCads were much simpler.

I understand enough about multi-cells and my charger to not blow them up (which is minimal knowledge). Here's my formula... for example, my 3 cell batteries for the trex are 2200 mAh, 11.1v, 30c. They are advertised that you can charge them at double rate. So I set the charger to charge at 4.4a, 3 cell, 11.1v So 1x charge rate is 2.2a, double is 4.4a. I should mention that I'm using a 'balance board', where you plug in one four-pin (for 3-cell) to the board, and the dean's connector to the black/red power.

So for 1-cell batteries, used in the micro blade helis, I bought another board that has 8 slots. It does NOT plug into the balance board. It plugs into just the black/red output. These batteries are only 200 mAh, and 3v (?). So this is what I have been doing, but after talking to the hobby store guy, I may be doing it wrong. If I have 2 of the 2-cell, 200 mAh batteries plugged in, I would set the charger to 0.4a (400 mAh). 3 of them, set it to 600 mAh. Etc. That would be for a 1x charge rate. However, the guy at the store said to use 200 mAh charge rate regardless of how many batteries I have plugged in. Hope this makes sense.

Another question... the charger has all kinds of settings for all kinds of batteries (not just lipo, but NiMh and others). And for each type (in this case lipo), it has charge, balance, fast charge, and others. I've been using 'charge'... but am I supposed to use 'balance' because of the 'balance board'? Or is 'balance' for something else. The directions are written for someone with an electrical engineering degree.