ESC CC Talon 90 program change of initial spool up rate & re-calibration? (TREX 550E)

Bruno

Currently I do not have nor do I want autorotation activated.

The motor engages as soon as the throttle stick is lifted off 0% (which is good) and soft start initial spool up rate is set to "medium" (5) in CC program.

However, after spool up/soft start, if the stick hits 0% (all the way down) this activates soft start again. If this happens during flight the spool up rate is not fast enough to pull her back into the air. She will crash. I rarely fly in IU as I am still learning.

So, I think I'm gonna increase the initial spool up rate to "8" and see what that is like.

QUESTIONS:
1) After changing initial spool up rate do I have to recalibrate ESC endpoints?

2) Do I have to re-bind the BX after any of the above referenced changes?

Any answers or suggestions are appreciated. :eagerness:

Last edited:

pvolcko

Re: CC Talon 90 program change of initial spool up rate & re-calibration?

1) No

2) No

However, I have to ask under what flight condition are you going to 0 throttle while flying in normal mode? This really shouldn't be happening. IF you find you'd doing that in order to lower your altitude you may want to put a little more negative pitch into your pitch curve for the 0-50 stick range. This will make it have a faster descent rate while allowing you to keep the throttle higher, away from shut off posiiton.

Another option, since you have soft start enabled, is to change your normal throttle curve to start higher, maybe something like 30-40-50-75-100. This way you will only shut the motor down when you hit throttle hold, and you will have to initialize and setup with throttle hold on too. Both of which you should be doing anyway. This way you will not risk turning off the ESC in mid flight unless you hit throttle hold, no matter the throttle stick position.

Bruno

Re: CC Talon 90 program change of initial spool up rate & re-calibration?

1) No

2) No