Brakes on a car suck..doing maintenance on a car sucks!

trainrider06

i am getting old! Changed the rear brakes on my little Toyota Yaris today that i use to get back and forth to work in, and my back is killing me....took me most all day, and was a pain in the rear! Has drum brakes on rear
and I hadn't messed with drum brakes in years! Forgot all my little tricks to getting those dang mainsprings off, it sucked! Oh yeah poked a hole in one of my wheel cylinders too and had to buy/install that also...then bleed brakes....Gowd! Glad thats over with.....now I have to look forward to the wifes Beemer on vacation...gotta fix a $6.00 gasket but tear off half the motor to get to it! Thats gonna be fun fun!

Stambo

I chuckle quietly to myself when I read things like this.
It's what I do for a living, and have been for 40+ years.
If Yaris rear brakes took my apprentice much more than an hour he would have to have some good reasons.

I sometimes have trouble understanding why people bother taking all day to do something any reasonable mechanic would do in less than an hour and a quarter.
Especially when it comes to brakes, where an error could cost lives.

Tony

Staff member
I'm in the same boat. I have not done drums in quite a long time, something over 10 years or so. Every time I get into my tool box, I see the old drum tool that I used to use for the springs back there. It can be a pain, that's for sure.

Stambo, we do it because over here, these little foreign cars are expensive as hell to get work done on. No matter the cost of the car, a simple brake job here will cost as much as a down payment on another one. lol.

vimy

I've been fixing cars for a very long time, I don't do this as a profession.

The novelty of working on a car died out with me when I was still a teenager. I do this wretched activity only to save money.