450 Belt Drive Vibration

I put the 450 assault together and program the Turnigy gyro with your guyses help and everything checked out I got the right color lights I'm going to go do a maiden flight today but on spool up when it gets around halfway there's a terrible vibration starts bouncing around and it does it sometimes without the blades and if you hold it it doesn't do it I wish I could take a video but I don't know how to do it the show you guys if you have any suggestions let me know it's a belt drive which I have no experience with

Smoggie

You could work through eliminating one thing at a time:
  1. Does it vibrate with the main blades removed yes or no? (this eliminates main blades and/or feathering shaft issues)
  2. Does if vibrate with the tail blades removed yes or no? (eliminates tail blades/tail hub)
  3. Does it vibrate with the belt remove yes or no? (eliminates anything to do with tail or belt drive)
  4. Does it vibrate with pinion removed yes or no? (if yes it's the motor, if no it's the main shaft/main gear)
To post a video just upload it to Youtube then put the Youtube URL link into this thread

Tony

Staff member
This could be just a resonance vibration that is in all helicopters. If it stops when you are ready to go into the air, you should be fine. Just tossing ideas without seeing it.

That is a treasure chest full of information thanks guys I'm going to go and gently try to get it in the air see what it does I'll keep you posted