1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

450 Align Trex 450 Pro V2 - 6s Set Up

Discussion in 'Helicopters' started by Matt, Jul 11, 2018.

< Gaui X3l Build Log | Mikado Virtual Flybar System Upgrade Software >
  1. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    I've got an Align Trex 450 Pro V2. I'm thinking of converting it to a 6s set up, with a 6s battery, motor, and ESC.

    I have a Scorpion HKII-2221-2010Kv motor. Would the Castle Lite 50 be a good ESC for this motor?
     


  2. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have run that exact setup on one of my 450s, from memory ran a 1300 mAh 6S battery and got 7+ minute sports flying flights.
     
  3. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    Is it worth it? I've heard a lot of people say it's better. I've already got the motor, I just need to get an ESC. 1300 mAh battery is what I've been reading too.
     
  4. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Yes it is, 1. It's a learning experience, 2. You do get more power & longer flight times.
    The only reason I changed back was the to rationalize batteries to all 3S as I had several 450s, now I run 3 x 360s all running 6S so it wouldn't be a problem.
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Battery fitment under the canopy is going to be tight, but can be done. I have always left the Pro frames as 3s and only considered the Dominator frames with a battery tray for 6s. Of course, my 450 Dominator I'm still running on 3s lol.
     
  6. Geena

    Geena Moderator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Certified Aircraft Welder
    Location:
    Sebring, Florida
    I run my X3, and X3L on 6s. The battery is a little snug under the canopy of the X3L, but OMG...the power! :)
     
  7. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    It’s more head speed but without having to sacrifice flight time. The 3s with more head speed tend to drain the battery a lot quicker.
     
  8. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    The 1300 mAh 6s Nono-Tech that I used was the same dimensions as the 3S 2200 mAh so there were no issues with the Pro frame, although I can't see that battery listed anymore but there should be alternatives.
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Nice Keith, I didn't know they had one with the same footprint.
     
  10. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Just fitted a Gens Ace 1450 6S to my 3s 450 Pro it fits under the canopy OK IMG_3935 (Medium).JPG IMG_3936 (Medium).JPG
     
  11. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    I ordered 2 Venom 50c 1300mah packs from eBay and a Castle Edge Lite 50 amp ESC. Waiting on shipping. Once that’s shipped it’s going to be a lot of soldering
     
  12. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    Everything got delivered. Time to start soldering. Do you guys always fly with a canopy on the heli? Does it help with orientation? I’ve gotten in to the habit of not flying with a canopy. I’m thinking I’d progress further if I put the canopy on the heli.
     
  13. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    My self being blind as a bat I rather fly with the canopy on just for that reason...orientation.
     
  14. Admiral

    Admiral I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I sometimes test fly in the backyard with the canopy off but I always put it on in the field for orientation, I also often paint my vertical stabilizer iridescent orange for the same reason.
     
  15. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    As stated, the canopy will help tremendously with orientation especially if it gets a little far away from you or against a dark background.
     
  16. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    This heli is a beast..

    I’ve got an Align Trex 450 Pro V2

    Align DFC Head
    Hobbywing 40 amp ESC
    Scorpion HKII-2221-2010kv motor
    121 tooth main gear
    12 tooth pinion gear
    1300 mah 50c battery (22.2 volts)
    Microbeast
    KST servos

    I’m getting about 3500 rpm at full throttle and about 5 mins of flight time.

    Thinking of going to a 10 tooth pinion or a 9 tooth pinion

    Think I should go to a 9 tooth or 10 tooth pinion?
     
  17. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    This is too much for me and I’ve got a major vibration..
     
  18. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,813
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would not do the pinion. You are right where you need to be on head RPM for absolute max. what I would do though is setup your governor in the hobbywing and fly at 90% for max. This will give you 10% overhead if the helicopter needs it. It will also slow down the head slightly possibly resulting in reduced vibration.

    Speaking of vibration, is is a vibration or an oscillation? Can you post a video of what it is doing?
     
  19. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA


    It’s a vibration slight but not sure if it’s normal
     
  20. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    Another thing to add to the laundry list of things wrong with this heli.. I just noticed the screws came out of the brand new tail unit I just bought.. What needs to be loctited, and what doesn't need to be loctited?
     
< Gaui X3l Build Log | Mikado Virtual Flybar System Upgrade Software >

Share This Page