450 Align T-Rex 450l need help

Ni_2016

Hi all

Just wondering if someone could help me I'm setting up my align T-Rex 450l dominator 6s following the manual

Rotor blades are set -+ 11 degrees
I have used aligns manual for setting throttle pitch and curve to 40-65-85-100 in tx

I only want to do basic flying and hovering not interested in 3d flying I'm confused as I've been reading my settings are too high or wrong are they?

I'm a beginner to RC helicopters this is my first
Setup is
Dx6i + 1 dsmx satelite
Align T-Rex 450l 6s
Gpro flybarless

Tony

Staff member
If it feels comfortable to you, then it is correct. IMO, I would set it up with a linear pitch curve (0 25 50 75 100) and also use that curve for your IU1. Then, on IU0 (normal mode) use a pitch curve of 46 48 50 75 100. The reason for this is to keep from having full negative pitch. You never know when you start flying if you are ever going to slam the throttle down in a panic. Using that curve will limit normal mode to about -2º of pitch. Just enough to hold it on the ground when you land if you were flying in some wind. Hope this helps.

And don't forget to set some dual rates (70) and Expo (+35%). It will tame that heli down quite a bit.

Ni_2016

Thank you Tony and trainrider06 for helping

what do you mean by IUO,IU1? How to set dual rates and expo?

To be honest as its my first heli I don't know if I'm comfortable flying with -+11 pitch setting as reading higher the pitch more skill is required in flying? As I'm a beginner can you recommend me settings for a beginner as it's my first heli as I said 3d aerobatics flying I'm not interested in

Thank you very much for your help :)

trainrider06

Ni you may be better off putting that heli on the shelf, and getting yourself a cheap fixed pitch heli to train on and begin the learning process of the radio, and heli.