Batteries 4S 2650 MAmp batter vs 3S

N4RF

Ijust got my hands on a 4S 2650M battery and have been told its too large for a plane that is expecting a 3S. The plane is an Horizon Pulse 15e with a 40Amp ESC and a B15BL Outrunner motor 880KV.

If this truly is too large a battery then what may be my options.

I actually came across this site after watching a Youtube video done by the site that discussed the size requirements. It didn't mention that extra size would be bad, just that it would help all that much.

I'm relatively new to the hobby (1.5 years) and still struggling with the electronics side.

Thanks

Tony

Staff member
More than likely it's not the size or weight of the battery that is the issue, but the voltage. a 3s pack is 11.1 volts nominal whereas the 4s pack is 14.8 nominal. Or fully charged, 12.60 and 15.54 respectively. Going that much over can and will burn up ESC's and motors if they are not rated for them.

If the plane will handle that kind of voltage, then the size could also be an issue if the battery compartment is pretty small. a 4s1p pack will have an extra cell which will cause it to be larger in size as well as heavier.

What video did you watch? The Matching Motor, ESC & Battery video?

N4RF

Yep, I think that was the one. Posted back in 2011, I think. So, would boosting the ESC to a higher amp help? There were a number of formulas givenand I still have to run through them.

I'm sensing that I may have to sell the 4S and still with the 3Ss that I have but wanted to check option first.

- - - Updated - - -

By the way, how'd you make out in the ice? Central MD got a drizzel which still can't be driven on but will at least melt faster.

Tony

Staff member
Raising the amp rating will not help (not for this matter anyway). You would need to verify the max voltage for the ESC and the motor and if they are only rated for 3S, then you would have to upgrade both of them.