450 450 Clone Flybar Idle Up Malfunction/Implosion

Bruno

Don’t worry I own the AWESOME Trex 450 Pro V2. I love it!!

I have a STORM 450 from HeliPal with which I experiment.

I am just learning to fly so I use the clone to try new maneuvers.

Anyway, I set the WTF07H radio that comes with the Heli in Idle up mode with settings consistent with my Trex idle up mode settings.

Throttle Curve : NORMAL > -100, -66.7, -33.3, 0, +33.3, +66.7, +100
Throttle Curve : IDLE > -+100, +81.3, +64.0, +60.2, +64.0, +81.3, +100
Pitch Curve : NORMAL > -49.6, -26.7, 0, +25, +43, +73.8, +100, IDLE> default linear curve

I take her up in the air…no problem…flip the idle up switch and the Heli basically implodes in midair. :numbness:

The swash guide broke, the shaft bent to almost 90 degrees, knocked the Canopy off, battery off…it was horrific. Upon examination all I could come up with is that when I switched to idle up the swash guide broke and the Heli tore itself up. :dejection:

Anyone have any ideas what may have happened otherwise?

I wish I had video of the implosion.

I have rebuilt the Heli but I am hesitant to give it another try until I get some feedback. :uncomfortableness:

Please laet ne know what you think.

Thanks.

Tony

Staff member
It could have been a number of things from feathering shaft bolt to a bad blade. However, your "normal" T-Curve should start with 0, not have it in the center. Just wondering how you are making this work...

zenmetsu

Yeah, and negative throttle? I thought that throttle was always positive and the pitch was negative, even then most radios show a percentage that is positive and 50% equates to zero pitch. o_O

Throttle Normal would be 0/25/50/75/100
Throttle IdleUp would be like 100/90/75/90/100

Pitch curve should be like -2º, -2º, 0º, 5º, 10º in normal, and -10º, -5º, 0º, 5º, 10º in idle up.

The numbers you post don't make sense to me.