450 3GX Newbie and a few questions

n8lbv

Am looking for any suggestions/recommendations on the 3GX itself.

I'm flying my first 3GX 5.0 firmware on a CHEAP HK450 with $12 FBL conversion kit.
3S 2200 separate 2S 7.4V battery and BEC for RX and FBL+ servos.
50AMP ESC HK helidrive 3600K/V and 12 tooth pinion.
All digital MG servos (OMG) 450 size.
Spektrum conventional 6 channel RX and DX9 TX.

Just to get started I studied and followed the RCHelp videos carefully and was very confident in setting up my first 3GX Thank You for the videos.

Maiden flight was certainly not anything like my BeastX out-of-the-the-box experience.

First problem was it did not want to keep the swash level taking off from grass.. the swash was pulling all the way over to the left and I could not center it.

Put in on the pavement and was able to manage it just fine and take off.

I later resolved this issue by getting rid of some of the negative pitch in normal mode.. it didn't seem to agree with that at all as it was probably pushing itself into the grass on spoolup.

I'm full throttle at 50% stick just before lifting off with positive pitch.
I usually fly with full negative pitch available even in normal mode
for more control.. I also usually use about 65% max throttle in "normal" flight mode along with same full pitch range as stunt modes.

It was certainly flyable but felt very "pitchy".
reminded me of flying flybarless WITHOUT a gyro of any kind only a tail gyro. I've done this many times for testing.

Here comes my first question:

In the software looking for cyclic gain settings I found that the elev. and ail have two different names...
I have:
Aileron Sensitivity
and Elevator Gain.

But not individual gain for ail and elev.

Is this just a typo? when they should both be called "gain"

ALso they do not seem to be settable in software but seem to be controlled by pots..

I started out with BOTH set at 117 which I thought was "high"..