FBL Gyro 3GX losing tail control after steep ascending and descending

Chancol

I am quite new to 3GX and FBL. I was flying with my 450 heli FBL and 3GX 4.0 combination. I have MKS cyclic servos, HobbyKing 15158A tail servo, cheap Mystery ESC and Turnigy Typhoon motor. Battery is 3s, 2200mah, 25C.

I decided to have some fun and throw it around with steep ascending and descending to test out the tail holding compensation factor (whatever the correct term is in the 3GX programming software. I had to increase that factor though).

Initially, the tail was holding well when the heli was thrown up and down like a jojo. After doing it maybe 10 times, it looked tired and the tail was not really responding. Luckily, it did not crash. After a while, it kind of recovered and responded weakly again.

I thought it might be the battery. when it was full, it holds well. When its low, it does not give the headspeed needed to lock the tail. That was my theory.

But I think after I changed to a new battery, the tail still did not respond as good as before. I examined the tail servo but did not see any observable damage or worn out.

So, I just want to check with you guys what I need to be careful of with this king of steep ascending and descending. I am not a 3D pilot. Once I can control this, my next step would be doing flips. The last thing I want is that after I flip the heli, the tail does not respond to me anymore.

Do you think for example, it is necessary to use battery with higher C?

Tony

Staff member
A higher C battery i always a good idea. I tell people, get the highest c that you can afford.

Did you happen to feel your tail servo when it stopped responding? I'm wondering if it's getting hot. Also, might want to up your gain a little bit. Worth a shot anyway.

Chancol

A higher C battery i always a good idea. I tell people, get the highest c that you can afford.