600 3gx Gyro Question

Tom Edgerton

Hi, Just a quick question. Can the Align 3GX gyro be used on a flybar helicopter?? If not...any suggestions for a gyro? I'm building the HK600GT. And I'm using the Turnigy 9X TX and RX. I do have the KDS Flymentor system. Thanks for any help!!

Tom Edgerton

Thanks jacobcreek! I just went and checked out some setups for this gyro, on youtube. It's not what I'm looking for. I am looking for a 3 axis gyro. Right now on a 450 clone I have. I'm using a Detrum GY47V, and have good luck with it. But, I need a gyro that controls the main blade as well.

murankar

Staff member
So if your setting up a gt600 I would just get a KBAR and fly that. The fly mentor is not a flybarless gyro in a sense for flybarless. If its what I think it is, its for a flybar setup (could be wrong) . I have no experience with it. In all honesty you could use 3gx on a flybar, just hook up the tail and be done. Personally just get a used align tail gyro. Those should be dirt cheap by now.

Tom Edgerton

Hi Guys, Thanks for your responses. The HK600GT is a flybar helicopter. The KDS Flymentor is a 3 axis gyro. It controls, not only the tail of the heli. But, also the main blade. Making for hands off hovering. It's a little bulky, with three parts. It has a tail gyro, a receiver, and a CCTV camera. Programing is done either by PC, or a program card/box. The 3GX, if I'm correct, is a 3 axis gyro. But, it is advertised for flybarless heli's. I'm just wondering if it will work on a flybar heli. Although it would be great to own an Align, or Goblin, etc. They are out of my price range. I have to enjoy this hobby on a budget. I live on a fixed income. Thanks again guys!!

murankar

Staff member
In general no. 3 axis gyros are for flybareless only. You could in theory hook up just the tail and be good.

Just get a gp720; which I think is the align tail gyro, to keep it simple.

jacobcreek